How to choose a suitable hosting package?

1 – How to choose your server type (Web Hosting Platform)

The first consideration is: Server type. Usually there are 2 options: Windows or Unix/Linux. If you are familiar with IIS, ASP, ASP.net, VBScript, Microsoft SQL Server or Visual InterDev, you should use Windows server (also known as NT platform).

If your website is php based with MySQL Server (Unix Base program), you should use Unix/Linux platform.

For stability, Linux and Apache Server (Unix Platform) is fabulous. This free application is the choice of not a few IT people, and it is getting popularity over Windows/IIS server, if your website is a simple one, you should choose more stable server.

Please, do not mix up your home application with those used by hosting companies. Even if your own pc is using Windows, you can still choose a hosting company with Unix/Linux servers.

2 – Websites need hosting space

Then, you have to calculate how much space you need for your website. If your website contains a lot of pictures, videos, short clips or downloadable files, you would need more storage and spare space for future development.

i.e. 1MB = 1025kB

One point worth noting is the online control panel. A good control panel allow easy changing settings, some hosting companies have their tailor-made panels, which can be upgraded easily.

3 – Different packages support different languages and databases

You have to decide which server language and database you want. Most popular ones are Perl, PHP, ASP etc. (ASP is fading out though…)

Windows Server supports ASP, and also VBScript and JSScript for website setups. Unix/Linux Server usually supports PHP, TCL, Python, C/C++. Besides, if you need a database, usually the package would cost more, e.g. MsSQL is more expensive than MySQL, because MsSQL applies on Windows Server, hosting companies have to pay Bill Gates license fees!

4 – Email storage and number of users
Email service is very important as well, Does the hosting comapny support POP3, IMAP, SMTP, WEBMAIL services? Would the number of email accounts more than enough for all employees or members? These questions have to be put into consideration.

5 – Domain registration service
Domain registration cannot be ignored. Domain types are classified as international domains (e.g. .com/.net/.org/.biz/.info) and regional domains (e.g. .com.hk/.net.hk/.org.hk/.hk(. Former ones are more easy to apply, no documentation would be needed; later ones would need supporting documents and the prices are also higher.

Quite a number of web hosting companies would also provide domain registration service, but you have to be aware whether the domain belongs to you or not. When you change your hosting company, you have to provide the domain owner’s information. For some less reputable companies, they would lock the domain and registered themselves as the domain owner, not allowing their customers to leave.

6 – Website Traffic
To calculate the website traffic, the formula is:

Website Traffic = Size of each website page x estimated monthly visitors for each page

E.g. Website Traffic

=Size of each page ~100kB × Average 1000 pages visited daily × 30 days
=100kB × 1000 × 30
=3,000,000kB,roughly 3GB traffic per monthy

In addition, FTP and database traffic also have to be calculated.

Current general hosting company would offer 5GB-10GB traffic flow, additional charges would be placed for additional traffic, so you have to calculate and budget it in advance. If you estimate your website traffic is huge, you may consider renting your own server, or choose service providers with unlimited traffic flow. You do have to bear in mind that even unlimited service providers would place restrictions on bandwidth, which may affect your website’s browsing speed at peak hours, or even unable to show web content due unstability. You also have to pay attention to the lines concerning server usage at “Additional Usage Statement” and restrictions on resources. Traffic flow is a major cost of hosting companies, they would not allow unlimited free use.

7 – Importance of Server Stability
Server being stable is most important to a website’s performance, including the uptime and access speed. If your website is a commercial official site, you HAVE to consider the uptime, and usually hosting companies with strict terms and traffic limit can better guarantee stability, because they can better distribute resources evenly.

8 – Good Technical Support is actually essential
Good technical support team could definitely save your neck while you meet difficulties in site-building. Some providers only have email supports, better providers would have 24-hours support hotline.

9 – Others

  • Server with SSL certificate
  • Traffic Report
  • Additional Charges
  • Regular Automatic or Manual Backup

If you do not know much about web hosting companies, you should probably choose more established ones, or those with advertisements on major media or magazines – at least that may prove some financial power… You also have to know if they are HK registered companies, like if they have a BR and authentic office address or not.

To find a reputable hosting company with stable and reliable service is your first step in making a successful website.

如何選擇一個適合自己的網頁寄存組合?

1 – 如何選擇伺服器類型 (又稱網頁寄存平台)

這是首個考慮因素:伺服器類型~通常只有兩種,就是Windows 或 Unix/Linux 伺服器。如果您熟識用IIS,ASP,ASP.net,VBScript,Microsoft SQL Server 或Visual InterDev,你便一定是選用Windows伺服器(又稱NT platform)。

若你的網站是用PHP,MySQL Server(Unix Base的程式),您一定是 Unix/Linux 平台。

在穩定性方面,Linux,Apache的伺服器都比較出色(Unix平台)。這個免費的作業系統是很多IT人的選擇,亦漸漸取代了 Windows/IIS 伺服器,如果您的網站是純粹 HTML 網站,您應選擇比較穩定的伺服器。

不過,千萬不要誤會您現在家中使用的作業系統會跟網存公司的伺服器所使用的作業系統拉上關係。即是,如果您在家中正在使用Windows的作業系統、您仍可以選擇使用Unix/Linux伺服器的網存公司。

2 – 網站需要寄存空間

然後,您需計算一下大概所需的寄存空間。如果您的網頁內有很多圖片,影像,短片或提供下載的文件,您便需要較多的空間,並要預留一些空間以便將來增加內容。
注:1MB = 1024kB

另外,值得大家留意的是網上控制台。好的網上控制台能讓您輕易建立自己所需要的設定,有些網存商已推出自家設計的網上控制台,好處在於可以把網上控制台的功能升級。

3 – 不同組合支援不同語言程式及數據庫

您要決定您需要用什麼伺服器語言及數據庫。最受歡迎的是Perl,PHP,ASP等。

Windows 伺服器支援 ASP,並可以用 VBScript,JSScript 等去建立網站。而 Unix/Linux 伺服器一般都支援 PHP,TCL,Python,C/C++。另外,如果您需要數據庫 (Database),一般都要選擇貴一點的組合,例如 MsSQL 會比 MySQL 貴,因為 MsSQL 是在 Windows 上運作,網頁寄存公司要交License Fee 給 Bill Gates!

4 – 電郵信箱容量及戶口數量
電郵信箱服務亦非常重要。該寄存公司是否支援 POP3,IMAP,SMTP,WEBMAIL 等服務? 是否有足夠電郵戶口提供所有員工會員使用等都是值得考慮的因素。

5 – 登記域名服務
域名的登記事宜亦不能疏忽,域名主要分為國際域名 (eg. com/.net/.org/.biz/.info) 及區域域名 (eg..com.hk/.net.hk/.org.hk/.hk) 兩大類。前者的申請較為方便,因無需提供任何證明文件便可申請。後者則需要提供有關證明文件才可申請,價錢亦較為昂貴。

大多數網頁寄存公司也會同時提供代為登記域名服務,但大家要特別注意域名的擁有權是否屬於您本人。因為如果往後您想轉用其他網頁寄存公司服務,您必須提供域名擁有人資料才可以更改。有些商譽欠佳的網頁寄存公司,因要鎖死客人不能轉走,會在代登記域名時,以自己的公司為域名擁有人!

6 – 網站流量
現在要計算您需要的網站流量。算式:
網站流量=網頁每一頁的平均大小 × 預計每個月訪客瀏覽多少頁數

例如:網站流量

=每頁大小100kB × 每日大概有1000頁被瀏覽 × 30日
=100kB × 1000 × 30
=3,000,000kB,大概是3GB流量一個月

另外,FTP,Database等流量亦計算在內。

現在一般的網存公司都提供5GB-10G的流量,多了便會收附加費,所以不能不計算一下,如果您預計自己的網頁流量很大,您可考慮租用專屬伺服器,或選擇提供無限流量的網存商。不過您必須注意,所謂提供無限流量的網存商一般都限制了頻寬,繁忙時間可能會影響您的網站瀏覽速度,甚至無法連線,極不穩定。您亦要注意其「附加使用條款」當中所提及伺服器的使用,並限制客戶不能使用太多資源。其實流量是網存公司的重要開支之一,絕不可能無限任用。

7 – 伺服器穩定的重要性
伺服器的穩定性最為重要,因為這會直接影響在線時間及存取速度。如果您的網站是從事商業用途,您必定要考慮伺服器在線時間,通常有嚴謹條款及流量限制的網存商能提供較好的穩定性,因為伺服器的資源得到較平均的分配。

8 – 良好的技術支援是必須的
良好的技術支援絕對有助您解決建立網站遇到的問題,某些網存商只會提供Email 作技術支援,而服務比較完善的公司更會提供24小時真人電話支援服務,以便隨時隨地解決您的問題。

9 – 其他要注意的事項

  • 是以提供數碼証書(SSL)伺服器
  • 有沒有網站流量統計報告
  • 清楚的附加收費項目價格
  • 提供定期備份或自行備份服務

如果您對網存商的認識不多,您可以考慮選擇規模較大的,或在各大雜誌賣廣告的網存商,因為這最少顯示了公司有財力。您亦必須知道它是否本地註冊公司,例如有沒有商業登記證 (BR),辦公室的地址是否真確等。

尋找穩定可靠,信譽良好的網頁寄存商,是助您的網站踏出成功的第一步。