Email client softwares

As previously mentioned, most email users nowadays use email client software to download emails to the PC, and send / receive emails there. Here are some examples of such kind of software:-

Outlook – one of the series of software from the Microsoft Office Suites, and is the advanced version of Outlook Express. Outlook includes personal information register formula (Notepad) and email communication software.

Main functions:

  1. Manages personal data, eg meeting, diary, and contact list.
  2. Manages public data, eg accepting and allocation of tasks, public folders, and meeting arrangements.
  3. Works like Windows Data Manager: directly open all files from the server.
  4. Supports Internet Mail, Microsoft Mail, Microsoft Fax, Exchange Server etc. with strong Internet communication function

Outlook Express, or simply OE, is an email software developed by Microsoft. Outlook and Outlook Express, both a part of Office Suite, are 2 totally different software. Though both of them carry the functions of sending and receiving emails, they are not inter-operatable. Some people even think, probably from the similarity of names, that Outlook Express is the “simple” version of Outlook. But the fact is Outlook Express cannot co-operate with Microsoft Exchange Server like Outlook does.

Advantage of Outlook Express: as it only focuses on sending and receiving emails, it is considered more stable and easy to use when compared to Outlook. Plus, its Chinese version is probably the best Newsgroup supporting software nowadays. As it is easy to use and available in many languages, even people with little computer knowledge could learn to use it very soon.

Before Outlook and Outlook Express become prominent, the most used email software was Netscape Communicator, which remains popular among some users. Back in 1997, Netscape merges email software, newsgroup software, e-meeting software, data collection software etc. and released Netscape Communicator. It was then a popular email software and a reference taken by Outlook in the design stage. After just a couple of years, Windows published the Office Suite including a full range of software including Word, Excel, IE and Outlook, that gave a massive blow to the market share of Netscape Communicator.

No matter what email software you use, the following habits must be maintained in order to avoid possible technical problems:-

  1. Don’t place all emails in one single folder, but in a couple of folders separately. When the total volume of emails in a folder (including its sub-folders) excesses 1G, the operation of email system will be affected and the speed will drop.
  2. Permanenetly delete emails. Some people think clearing the trash box means permanently deleting the emails, but the fact is the “deleted mails” in Outlook or Outlook Express still take up memories and thus affecting the operation speed. In Outlook and Outlook Express, you can follow the steps below to cope with this problem. Go to [Tools] > [Options] > [Others] > [Auto Archive] and customize settings according to your needs.

pic_email_01

Although Outlook and Outlook Express is easy to use, it should be noted that they can only function in computers that have completed related settings. Webmails become a more sensible option when you’re in a Café, netcafe or working abroad without your PC.

不同收發電郵的軟件

上文提及,目前大多數用戶都會使用一些郵件下載軟件 (Outlook, Outlook Express) 把郵件下載到電腦並在此收發電郵。以下便介紹不同的軟件以供參考:

Outlook
Outlook 是微軟公司出品的 Office 套裝的其一軟件,是 Outlook Express 的加強版。 Outlook 包括了個人資訊管理程式(記事本)和電子郵件通信軟件。

Outlook 主要的功能:

  1. 管理個人資訊,如設定約會、記錄日記、設置通訊錄等。
  2. 管理公用資訊,如接受任務和向他人分配任務、共用通用文件夾的小組資訊、設置會議等。
  3. 具有” Windows 資源管理器”的功能,可以直接打開伺服器上的所有文檔。
  4. 具有強大的網路通信功能,可以支援 Internet Mail、Microsoft Mail、Microsoft Fax、Exchange Server 等。

Outlook Express

Outlook Express ,簡稱 OE ,是微軟公司出品的一款電子郵件軟件。 Office 軟件內的 Outlook 與 Outlook Express 是兩個完全不同的軟件,雖然同有收發 email 功能,但他們之間並不互通。他們之間如此相似的名字使得很多人以為 Outlook Express 是 Outlook 軟件的”精簡版”。不過 Outlook Express 並不像 Outlook 那樣可以和 Microsoft Exchange Server 相互搭配而有群組軟體的功能。

Outlook Express 的優點:由於它只專注於收發電郵,在易用性及穩定性上都較 Outlook 好。而且它在中文系統中是到目前為止支援中文新聞組服務最好的軟件之一。除此之外, Outlook Express 簡單易學,而且有多國語言的版本,即使不熟悉電腦程式也能較快學習使用。

其實在 Outlook 或 Outlook Express 普及前,最多人用的電郵軟件是 Netscape Communicator ,時至今日,仍有一定的支持者。於1997年,網景公司 (Netscape) 把郵件軟件、新聞群組軟件、線上會議軟件、資料收訊軟件等各軟件總和起來,改稱為 Netscape Communicator ,是當時受歡迎的電郵軟件,亦是日後 Outlook 設計時的參考對象。可是在數年後, Windows 的 Office 以套裝形式,一次過有齊 Word, Excel, IE 及 Outlook,大大影響到當時 Netscape Communicator 的市場佔有率。

無論用那種電郵軟件,使用者都要養成以下的良好習慣,以減少可能發生的技術問題:

  1. 不要將所有的郵件於在同一個文件夾內,應分設於多個文件夾。如果在同一個文件夾(包括子文件夾)裏的郵件多於1G,那麼電郵系統的運作就會受到影響,大大減慢運行速度。
  2. 將已經刪除的郵件做永久性刪除。一般人以為清空了垃圾箱便等如永久刪除,但原來在 Outlook 或 Outlook Express 這些”已刪除郵件”仍會佔據著 Outlook 的記憶體空間,同樣也會影響到 Outlook 的運行速度。在 Outlook 和 Outlook Express 中,有如下的設置可減輕這個問題:”工具” -> “選項” -> “其他” -> “自動封存” 根據自己的情況來設置。

pic_email_01

雖然 Outlook 或 Outlook Express 易學易用,但亦只限於已做好預設的電腦才可運作,當你身處 Cafe,網吧或外遊時,若無私人電腦在齊旁,有提供 Webmail (網上電郵)的電郵戶口便大派用場。