Basic concepts of domain

What is ‘domain’?

Back in time when Internet was a new discovery, each computer bore a set of numbers – it works just like phone numbers, you had to enter those set of numbers when you try to reach another computer. The problem is, when the number of computers continued to soar, those sets of numbers become so much longer that people could hardly remember them. That was how domain came to place, replacing a set of meaningless numbers with a combination of alphabets and numbers.

Domain name (or simply “domain”) stands for a location on the Internet. It acts just like the home or office address in the real world, that people will be able to find your website through domain. There are no duplicate domains, one domain only represents one location, like yahoo.com – there won’t be more than one yahoo.com on the Internet. The same applies to Lan Kwai Fong, Central – there is one and only one Lan Kwai Fong, Central in this world.

Domain is an online address, the only way for a computer to find a website out of the borderless Internet pool. When someone or a company wants to build a website on the Internet, a domain is a must-have item. Domain also carries functions such as brand building, promotion and SEO, as it is used by people or companies to characterize themselves against one another.

What is ‘sub-domain’?

Sub-domains share the same functions with phone extensions in companies. For instance, let 2123-2123 be the main station phone number on a company. Each of its employees owns a unique phone extension (e.g. 9130). When someone outside the company calls me, he or she needs to call 2123-2123 and then 9130, after connected. Such phone extensions do not require extra application from the phone company, and are under control by the phone system of the company. The same works for sub-domains. When you registered yahoo.com, you may insert any words or symbols before ‘yahoo’ for different purposes.

cn.yahoo.com , hk.yahoo.com , uk.yahoo.com are all sub-domains of yahoo.com representing different regions.

An application is not required for sub-domains. Once a domain is registered, you may add any sub-domain before the domain. ‘www’ is in fact the most common sub-domain – you reach the same site no matter you enter www.yahoo.com or yahoo.com . It’s like one person is responsible for picking up calls to phone extensions and main stations.

Understanding domain correctly

Most people read domain from left to right as in English grammar. Yet when it comes to domains, they should be read from right to left. Take www.yahoo.com.hk as an example. .hk stands for Hong Kong region, .com means commercial, yahoo is the name and www the sub-domain. Once you mastered the right-to-left rule of interpreting domain, you will be able to know the differences between the following domains:-

  1. www.biz.com (.com is a TLD; biz is the domain; www is the sub-domain)
  2. www.biz.com.hk (.hk – Hong Kong; com – commercial; biz – domain; www – sub-domain)
  3. www.biz.hk.com (.com – TLD; hk – domain; www.biz – sub-domain)
  4. www.hk.biz (.biz – TLD; hk – domain; www – sub-domain)

The 1st and 3rd item use .com as domain and have no relation with Hong Kong; the 2nd item is the only Hong Kong domain.

Characteristics of Domain

  • Domains are globally used without conventional regional restrictions. That means a website with a Hong Kong domain can be reached from around the world.
  • Every domain is unique. Once being registered, it cannot be registered and used by other parties. In other words its exclusivity is well preserved.
  • Registrant of domains only has the right to use a certain domain. All domains are owned by government certified domain management institutes but not the person or company who registered the domain. Registrant must pay an annual fee in order to extend the right to use of the domain.

Working mechanism of domains

1. Type the domain in the URL address column: yahoo.com
pic_domain_01

2. Your computer, through DNS, translates domain into numbers that computers could understand (i.e. IP address): 216.109.112.135 , before connecting to Yahoo’s computer or server.

pic_domain_02

pic_domain_03

Domain related organizations

As mentioned above, the ownership of all domains lies in government certified domain management institutes but not registrants. ICANN, an international organization responsible for global domain management, is at the top of all domain management institutes. Its main duties are approving and arranging gTLDs & ccTLDs, authorizing registries on domain registration operations, organizing domain services, as well as educations and arbitration of domains.

Different registries are responsible for different types of domains. Verisign, for example, responsible for .com and .net ; while Public Interest Registry deals with .org . The management institutes of ccTLDs are normally departments or companies authorized by the government, e.g. HKDNR for .hk and CNNIC for .cn . For a country or region to register a ccTLD, it is a must to send application to ICANN for approval. The reason why the ccTLD of China is cn but not ch or ca is that the latter two have already been registered by the time China applied. So China could only register cn as ccTLD, and let CNNIC be the ICANN-approved domain management institute.

On the gTLD aspect, all of the terms including application conditions and domain registry authorizations are under direct control by ICANN, which also provides support for registries. On the ccTLD aspect, however, ICANN merely acts as an advisory agency, and has nothing to do with the terms and application conditions of ccTLD of a country.

The domain registration market is an open one, and it is a normal practice for registers to hand over the selling of domains to registrars. There are thousands of registrars all over the world with differentiated prices.

History of Domain Development

1992 – Domain registration began but applications were very few.

1993 – www protocol came to exist on Internet; demand for domain on the rise.

1993 – NSI signed a 5-year contract with the US government becoming the exclusive registration agent for 3 gTLDs – .com , .org & .net . Total number of domain by the time being was around 7,000.

1994 – NSI charged each domain for US$100 as an annual fee, and US$50/year after 2 years.

Early 1998 – Over 1.2M domains were registered through NSI, 90% of them ended in ‘.com’ , generating a revenue of more than US$60M. It was predicted that the amount could reach US$200M in mid-1999.

On July 1 1997, as part of the US government’s Framework for Global Electronic Commerce, President Bill Clinton directed the Department of Commerce to privatize and induce competitions to the domain system, while facilitating the world to take a part in it. On July 2, the Department of Commerce issued an invitation to collect opinions and solutions on a couple of topics, such as the role of the US government in domain management, the overall structure of the domain system, new additions of gTLD, registry policies and trademarks.

On Jan 30 1998, the US Department of Commerce, through its website, announced A Proposal to Improve the Technological Management of Internet Names and Addresses. This so-called “Green Paper”, completed by Clinton with his Internet policy advisor Ira Magaziner, stated that the US government would ‘gradually’ transfer the responsibilities for DNS management to private organizations. The “Green Paper” summarized 4 principles: “Stability” in the course of transformation, support “Competition” in DNS management, “Private, Bottom-up Coordination” to replace government control, and “Representation” that the Internet should reflect a diversity of users both functionally and geographically.

Under such principles, the “Green Paper” suggested formulating a private and non-profit corporation to take over DNS management. The US government ought to hand over the power of DNS management to this corporation by Sept 30 1998, and all of the power no later than Sept 30 2000.

The Clinton government released a White Paper in June 1998 suggesting the DNS management power to be transferred from the government to non-profit organizations. The source of capital was not mentioned in the report, but guidelines and principles were set up that suggested formulating a non-profit organization.

On September 30 1998, the US government terminated the contract with domain supplier NSI, while extending the contract until September 30 2000. According the the agreement, NSI would work with other companies over the registration of TLDs. Starting from March 31 1999, NSI and NTIA (National Telecommunications and Information Administration) were set to gradually activate the shared registration system, before it was fully implemented on June 1 1999.

ICANN, a non-profit registry, was formed in October 1998.They signed an agreement with the US government to take over the responsibilities of IANA (Internet Assigned Numbers Authority), including monitoring policies and agreements related to domains and IP addresses. The government, on the other hand, adopted a non-intervention policy. Since then NSI was no longer the only company for domain registration, and the domain register fee has dropped significantly.

Types of domain

域名基本概念

何謂「域名」

在互聯網剛剛出現的時間,每一部電腦都有一組號碼。你的電腦要到別人的電腦時,必須輸入一組號碼,就如電話號碼一樣,但當電腦愈來愈多時,號碼也愈來愈長了,人腦開始不容易記憶那些無意思的數字,於是有域名的出現,以英文字母及數字取代一堆無意義的數字。

域名 (Domain Name,現也有簡稱為 “Domain” ),亦有人稱之為網名,是指互聯網上的一個位置,如我們現實世界的辨公室地址,屋企地址一樣,讓其他人可以通過域名找到你的網站。域名,是沒有重複的,一個域名只會代表一個位置,例如 Yahoo.com,不會有兩個 Yahoo.com 在互聯網上,同香港中環蘭桂坊一樣,全世界只一個中環蘭桂坊。

因為域名是網上的地址,是一部電腦要在茫茫網海中找出一個網站的唯一方法,所以如果一個人或一間公司希望在網路上建立自己的網站,就必須取得一個域名。因為域名是代表著個人或公司在互聯網上的重要身份,有識別作用,所以現在的域名還有重要的品牌建設、廣告效益和搜索引擎優化等作用。

何謂「子域名」

子域名等如公司內的內線,例如公司的總機號碼是 2123 2123,但每一個同事都有一個自己獨立的內線,例如我的內線是9130,所以當公司以外的人打電腦給我時,便按21232123 等電話接通後再按9130。這個內線是無須向電話公司申請的,完全是由公司內部的電話系統安排。子域名是相同原理,當你申請了 yahoo.com 後,你可隨意在 yahoo 前加上任何在電腦鍵盤上可輸入的字或符號,以作不同用途。

例如: cn.yahoo.comhk.yahoo.comuk.yahoo.com,其實都是 yahoo.com 的子域名,代表不同地區的域名。

子域名是無須申請的,當你登記了你自己的域名後,你就可以在你的域名前加上任何子域名。其實 www 正正就是最常見的子域名,不論你輸入 www.yahoo.com 或 yahoo.com 均是相同網站,因為設定時內線與總機都是同一個人接聽。

理解域名的正確方法

一般人讀域名都是從左至右,因為這是英語的文法。可是,若從析釋一個域名的角度出發,應是從右向左看的。例如: www.yahoo.com.hk,由右開始看: .hk 是代表香港地區,.com是代表公司 (commercial) ,yahoo是名稱,www 是子域名,代表網頁。若你掌握了由右向左的域名析釋法,你可以清楚知道以下四個域名的不同:

  1. www.biz.com (.com -頂級域名的一種, biz 域名部份, www子域名)
  2. www.biz.com.hk (.hk – 香港, com 公司, biz域名部份, www子域名)
  3. www.biz.hk.com (com -頂級域名的一種, hk域名部份, www.biz 子域名)
  4. www.hk.biz (biz – 另一種頂級域名, hk域名部份, www子域名)

第1及3均是.com域名,與香港無關,只有2是香港域名。

域名的特性

  • 域名的使用是全球範圍的,沒有傳統的嚴格地域性的限制,儘管是香港域名,在世界各地都可到達這個域名的網站。
  • 域名在網路上是絕對惟一的,一經註冊其他人不得註冊、使用相同的域名,因此其專有性也是絕對的。
  • 域名註冊人只有使用權,所有域名的擁有權均屬政府授權的域名管理機構而非域名註冊人或公司,域名註冊人須預繳域名的年費,才可續延使用該域名。

域名的簡單運作原理

1)在URL地址欄上鍵入域名:yahoo.com
pic_domain_01

2) 你的電腦透過域名解釋系統(DNS)將域名解釋成為電腦能識別的號碼 (IP位址):216.109.112.135,並連接到Yahoo的電腦或伺服器上。

pic_domain_02

pic_domain_03

與域名有關的組織

如上述所言,所有域名的擁有權均屬政府授權的域名管理機構而非域名註冊人或公司,而ICANN便是全球域名的最高管理機構。ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) 是統一負責全球域名管理的國際組織。其主要職責是審批、編配頂級域名 (gTLD) 及地區域名 (ccTLD),授權註冊管理機構 (registry) 從事域名註冊活動,統籌域名服務,並擔當起域名的教育、仲裁的職責。

不同管理機構 (registry) 會負責不同域名種類,例如Verisign會負責.com 及 .net ,Public Interest Registry 會負責 .org。對於地區域名 (ccTLD),管理機構一般為該國政府授權的部門或公司負責,如.hk 的香港域名註冊有限公司 (HKDNR) 和.cn 的中國國家資訊產業部屬下的中國互聯網路資訊中心(CNNIC)。所有國家或地區想要申請一個地區域名 (ccTLD),必須向ICANN申請,ICANN批准後才可獲得。例如中國的地區域名是 “cn” ,而不是ch 或ca,就是因為中國向ICANN申請時, ch 或 ca 已有國家申請了,所以才向ICANN申請cn,而中國互聯網路資訊中心 (CNNIC) 成為了ICANN授權管理 .cn 的的機構。

在頂級域名的範疇,所有條款包括申請條件、域名的註冊管理機構的授權均由ICANN直接決定和控制。並在頂級域名的註冊管理機構起協助的作用。但在地區域名的範疇內,ICANN只兼諮詢者角色,其對該國地區域名的具體的條款、申請條件等沒有直接管理權。

由於目前域名註冊市場開放,一般授權註冊商 (registry) 都會分散給二級代理商(registrar)銷售。以頂級域為例,市場上有過千個二級代理商分佈世界各地,價格各異。

域名的發展歷史

1992年 – 域名註冊剛剛興起,申請者寥寥無幾。

1993年 – 互聯網上出現 www 協議,域名開始吃香。

1993年 – Network Solutions (NSI) 公司與美國政府簽下5年合同,獨家代理 .COM、.ORG、.NET三個國際頂級域名註冊權。當時的域名總共才7000左右。

1994年 – NSI 向每個域名收取100美元註冊費,兩年後每年收取50美元的管理費。

1998年初,NSI已註冊域名120多萬個,其中90%使用 “.COM” 尾碼,進帳6000多萬美元。有人推算,到1999年中期,該公司僅域名註冊費一項的收入近2億美元。

1997年7月1日,作為美國政府「全球電子商務體系」管理政策的一部分,克林頓總統委託美國商務部對域名系統實施民間化和引入競爭機制,並促進國際的參與。7月2日,美國商務部公佈了面向公眾徵集方案和評價的邀請,對美國政府在域名管理中的角色、域名系統的總體結構、新頂級域名的增加、對註冊機構的政策和商標事務的問題徵集各方意見。

1998年1月30日,美國政府商務部通過其網站正式公佈了《域名技術管理改進草案(討論稿)》。這項由克林頓總統的互聯網政策顧問麥格日那主持完成的”綠皮書”申明了美國政府將”謹慎和和緩”地將域名的管理權由美國政府移交給民間機構,”綠皮書”總結了在域名問題上的四項基本原則,即移交過程的穩定性、域名系統的競爭性、「徹底的”協作性和民間性,以及反映所有國際用戶需求的代表性。
在這些原則下,”綠皮書”提出組建一個民營的非盈利性企業接管域名的管理權,並在1998年9月30日前將美國政府的域名管理職能交給這個聯合企業,並最遲在2000年9月30日前順利完成所有管理角色的移交。

1998年6月克林頓政府發表一份白皮書,建議由非盈利機構接管政府的域名管理職能。這份報告沒有說明該機構的資金來源,但規定了一些指導原則,並建議組建一個非盈利集團機構。

1998年9月30日美國政府終止了與域名提供商 NSI 之間的合同,但合約有效期是延期兩年至2000年9月30日。根據該協定,NSI將與其他公司一道承接頂級域名的登記工作。NSI和美國商務部國家電信和資訊管理局(NTIA)將於1999年3月31開始分階段啟動共用登記系統,至1999年6月1日完全實施。

1998年10月組建ICANN,一個非盈利的管理組織。它與美國政府簽訂協定,接管了原先IANA(Internet Assigned Numbers Authority,IANA)的職責,負責監視與域名和IP位址有關的政策和協定,而政府則採取不干預政策。從此,NSI 亦非唯一可登記域名的公司,域名的登記費用亦大大調低。

域名的種類