How to choose web design services

If we look at the 9 points from the previous article, we know what it takes to be a reliable web design company:-

  1. Good word-of-mouth
  2. Have well-known clients and previous works as reference
  3. Clearly stated items and prices
  4. Drafts are available when discussing with clients
  5. Customer services such as regular progress reports and customer training/support
  6. Clearly stated system language and system requirements

Protect your Internet properties
A good website takes so much to be built, including efforts, time and money. One day when you find that someone is plagiarizing your site, legal actions must be taken. Legal actions are all about evidences, so in the course of building a site, you must note the following to prove that you’re the owner of the site.

Agreements to be made before outsourcing web design
When the whole design progress is done by one person, the issue of copyright ownership will be simple – the maker of the site directly owns the copyright of his work. When a site is built by an employee of a company during the course of employment, his/her employer owns the copyright of the site.

There are cases when the webmaster requested an outsourcing web design company to make a website. Even though the webmaster can use the website built by the web designer as an exclusive user, the copyright of the website still belongs to the web deisgn company. That means if the webmaster wants the copyright, he/she must reach an agreement with the web design company that states the ownership of copyright belongs to the webmaster.

Get written approval prior to using others’ works
There are hardly any text-only sites nowadays, most sites contain texts, songs, sound effects, images and animations. In the course of making this kind of multimedia sites, when you need to use others’ works, you must get a written approval from the author beforehand – an agreement from the photographer if you use his/her photos, and one from the author if you use (a part of ) his/her works. Sources must be clearly and fully stated for every work done by others.

Copyright declaration on every page
Each page of the website should have copyright declarations clearly stated. A basic copyright declaration includes a copyright sign “©”, the owner of the site and the date of production. A declaration must be stated on every page and is easy to identify and read. It should be noted that copyright declarations are, of course, valid only for the owner of copyrights. When the contents of the site are plagiarized, any sort of copyright declaration will be meaningless.

What to do when someone plagiarized your site
The webmaster could send a warning letter to the plagiarist ordering the immediate halt of plagiarism. In accordance to the effects brought by plagiarism, webmaster has the right to demand the plagiarist for compensation and sign a letter guaranteeing that he/she will not copy from the webmaster’s site again. These are the means to ease the dispute. In case the plagiarist ignored the warnings, the webmaster can file a civil litigation through a lawyer to sue the plagiarist. The webmaster can also try to apply an injunction from the law court to stop plagiarism.

Keep copies in the course of creation
As it is extremely easy to duplicate data from a computer, sometimes distinguishing the original author and the plagiarist could be difficult.  To safeguard the copyright of the author, the best way is to keep copies everything – the idea, motivations & progress of web design. These can be used to prove that you’re the original author when there is a dispute.

如何選擇網頁設計服務

總結以上9點事項,一個可靠的網頁設計公司必須具備以下條件﹕

  1. 有好的口碑
  2. 有知名客戶,有實質完成品可參考
  3. 明碼實價,清楚列明各項收費及標準
  4. 在與客戶商討時,有初稿作籃本
  5. 有”定期匯報機制”和客戶培訓/支援服務等客戶服務
  6. 清楚列明所用的系統語言及所須的伺服器要求

保護你的網上資產
當你花了大量心機、金錢及時間來建好你的網站時,某天發現有其他人抄襲你的網頁,當然要採取法律行動。法律是講求證據,所以在編寫網頁時,建議你注意以下事項,以證明你是網站的真正擁有者。

外聘設計網頁需事先協議
如果一個網頁的整個製作過程是由一個人負責,以版權的擁有權角度來看,那是最簡單的。因為製作網頁的作者,直接擁有他的作品版權。若網頁是由僱員在受僱工作期間製作的,該僱員的僱主便是作品的版權擁有人。

若網主外聘設計公司負責製作網頁,雖然網主可以以專用特許身分,合法使用該製作公司製作的網頁,但網頁的版權是屬於該受委託的製作公司。因此,若網主想取回版權,網主必須與受託的製作公司事先達成協議,訂明雙方同意網頁的版權屬於網主所擁有。

採用他人作品需書面同意
純文本的網頁已很少見,一般網頁都包括文本,音樂,音效,圖片和動畫。在製作這些多媒體網頁時,如製作人需要採用他人的作品,就必須向該創作者取得書面同意,例如採用他人拍得的照片,就必須取得拍攝照片的攝影師同意,若採用某作家的一段創作文字,便需取得該作家的書面同意。每當處理別人的作品時,在別人的作品上必須附上足夠的確認聲明。

每頁也需注明版權聲明
為保障網頁的版權,網頁內的每一頁,必須註明版權聲明。一個基本的版權聲明包括有版權標誌「c」,網頁的版權持有人和製作日期。聲明應設置在網頁的每一頁上,並置於能夠容易及清楚辨認的地方。當然,版權聲明只有在擁有版權的作者身上才有效,如果網頁內容本身是抄襲製作品,那麼任何版權聲明也是無效的。

網頁被抄襲的處理方法

網主可先向抄襲者發出警告信,要求停止所有抄襲行為。網主可因應事件的影響,要求抄襲者作出金錢上的賠償,及要求簽署保證書以承諾不再抄襲網主的網頁,作為平息他的抄襲行為的條件。如果抄襲者不理會,可聘請律師循法律程式作出民事訴訟,控告抄襲者,更可同時嘗試向法庭申請禁制令,停止抄襲者的抄襲行為。

保存創作過程方便舉證
由於複製電腦資訊非常容易,有時候要分辨原創人和抄襲者較為困難。為保障作者的版權,最佳方法是保存一切有關自己創作網頁的意念、動機和過程,在有需要時,可以舉證自己是原創人。